Many IHRA Member Countries confront common challenges domestically, and overcoming these can often benefit from sharing knowledge at the intergovernmental level. The IHRA’s working definitions of antisemitism (2016) and Holocaust denial and distortion (2013 ) – drafted by IHRA experts and approved by IHRA Member Countries – provide an essential mutual starting point for addressing these issues at the national level.

Our working definitions and charters are available in multiple languages. Click on each individual document to see which languages the resource is available in.

While we try to ensure the accuracy of all of our translations, in the event of any discrepancies the English translation takes precedence. 

To date, the working definition has been adopted or endorsed by the following governments and bodies: the United Kingdom (12 December 2016), Israel (22 January 2017), Austria (25 April 2017) Scotland (27 April 2017), Romania (25 May 2017), Germany (20 September 2017), Bulgaria (18 October 2017), Belgium (14 December 2018), Sweden (January 2018),  Lithuania (24 January 2018), the Republic of North Macedonia (6 March 2018), the Netherlands (27 November 2018), Slovakia (28 November 2018), Republic of Moldova (18 January 2019), Czech Republic (25 January 2019), Greek Ministry of Education (11 February 2019), Hungary (18 February 2019), Canada ( 27 June 2019), Greece (8 November 2019), and France (3 December 2019).


The Stockholm Declaration on the Holocaust. IHRA